End of the Year Goal Check-In

In 2011, I shared 50 goals for the year.  At the end of 2011, I’d reached 28 of those goals. This year, instead of setting new goals, I continued to work on this list and made notes of new goals for 2013.  Looks like I reached 44 of the 50!  The others are no longer goals or transformed into something else.

Why 50 goals? The thing about setting 50 goals for a year is that you may not reach all of them.  That’s part of the beauty of it! Even reaching 28 in 2011 was pretty exciting for me.  If I’d only set 5, I may have reached 4 or 5 and stopped.  Keeping the list longer and varied with big and small goals keeps me motivated.  In a silly way, I’d even forgotten about some of the goals and didn’t do a weekly goal check-in with myself.  The power of the written word and intention was definitely at work…a beautiful thing!

Goal Progress…Making Room for New Goals

peaceful-girl1. Develop “office hours” for designing/blogging/social media – So, so glad to be there.

2. More family time (every day) – Yes, and so very thankful.

3. Treat B like he is a gift (every day) – Stronger and wiser. We are at the 12 year mark and growing every day.

4. Develop my watercolor (paint several times/week) – Lots of painting and art journaling this year, including an art journal swap where I filled 16 pages of art journals with words of encouragement.

5. Explore other art techniques/mediums/etc. It was an exciting year! More play with watercolor, mixed media, sewing (hello!) and crafting.

6. Make my watercolor jewelry dreams come true (develop a prototype) – The watercolor dreams changed in 2011, which was OK with me.  Instead of creating another “job” for myself, I focused on making jewelry for friends and family.  It was therapeutic and fun.

7. Exhibit at 3 craft shows – Not sure this is a goal of mine anymore, and that’s OK!

exterior28. Expand/refine my Etsy shop – A 2011 goal that was reached in 2012!

9. Refine Dreamy Design Works Jewelry blog to feel more like a nice website – Moving away from the watercolor jewelry dream for now, but lots of blogging here an on my other biz blog in 2012!

10. Host another craft party (or two) – Funny how this one came true in 2012…I hosted a mother-daughter craft party a few weeks ago and hosted other kids craft parties this year.

11. The word is “abundance” – Abundant time compared to the first-half of the year, since I was able to leave my full-time job in May!

12. Make birthdays (friends/family) special with handmade gifts – Definitely done in 2012.  Hand sewn aprons, clay soap dishes and more.

13. Pray everyday – Almost every night!

14. Read my bible and other inspirational books (art and otherwise) – Lots of reading this year, including many great thrift store finds!

15. Set up a “real” studio space – Reached in 2012! Hooray!

20121103-153850.jpg16. Family videos –Several family videos in 2012!

17. Keep car extra clean (silly but needed) – Much better this year, but the trunk is still a bit of disaster.  Progress!

18. Garden again…consider a vegetable/fruit garden – Rose garden in 2012 and lots of clipped flowers. Vegetable garden in 2011 and plans for another in 2013.

19. Grow friendships in Columbia – I’ve done a good job about staying in touch with Columbia friends even though I don’t have the twice-weekly commute anymore.

20. Stay in Charleston…We’re still here!

21. Date nights – More than last year!

22. More time with my parents and siblings – Especially in first-half of the year.

23. Grow relationship with sister-in-laws – I gained a new sister-in-law in 2012 and was able to host a shower for her and help with their wedding.  Very sweet!

24. Give Mom extra TLC – I hope so, but always room to improve.

lemon-berry-cupcakes25. Continue with marketing blog, refine design – Done in 2011 and again in 2012 (over here, if you aren’t a reader).

26. Go to the beach more, more outdoor activities – For sure.

27. Take the dog on longer walks everyday – More walking but we are down to one pet, a yorkie poodle mix.

28. Take a few short breaks to enjoy my day (fresh air, etc.) – Yes! Finally!

29. Get a nicer laptop so I can work from the park or coffee shop, etc. – Finally got my laptop! A 2011 goal, achieved in Oct. 2012.

30. Set up B’s den space for him (as a surprise) – Done in 2011!

31. Patio and porch furniture, flowers to make the spaces more enjoyable – So many clipped flowers in 2012…so happy.

32. Bikerides – Hmm…turns out I don’t have a comfortable seat and I get too nervous.  But lots of long walks, both here and in Colorado.

33. Rollerskate night – Ice skating in 2012, including a party…that counts!

34. Cooking (continue, try new recipes) –Went vegan! Oh my!

cupcake-final35. Redesign of this blog – Done in 2011 and again in 2012.

36. Launch of Strategic Online Marketing website – Done in 2011.

37. Move more (find joy in exercise) – Lots of long walks, especially in Colorado where I walked 1 or more hours a day.

38. Build joyful music lists (inspiration, motivation, exercise, etc.) – Thank you, Spotify

39. Create guest bedroom space – Thanks to a pull-out trundle bed, we’re there.

40. Make more jewelry to wear – Made lots of jewelry this year, gifted most of it but I’m OK with that.

41. Storytime. Lots of art time, praying, talking, and reading.

42. Grow friendships with Twitter, Chs, and Cola friends – I think so!

43. Disney – Yes, in 2011!

7671736944_4545b15aaf_z44. Puerto Rico – not yet

45. Healthier cooking, trips to the farmer’s market – Vegan adventures and 20 lbs down.

46. Biz cards (small but needed) – Done in 2012 thanks to Klout perks.

47. Approach local shops about selling my jewelry – no longer an immediate dream of mine, but love making jewelry as gifts!

48. Art time– Yes. Loving it.

49. Movie nights – Yes but not a goal for 2013.

50. Go to more CHS events with the family (festivals, etc.) – Yes! Including Dishcrawl and many Robert Ivey Ballet performances.

2013 goal post coming soon.  I can’t stress enough how powerful setting goals has been for me.  It keeps me motivated and encouraged, especially when I forget that I’ve made progress.

One thought on “End of the Year Goal Check-In

  1. Pingback: Facebook’s Year in Review: What Did Your 2012 Look Like? | Marketing with Laura

Leave a comment